The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.


The Lund University Photoacoustic Center is a unique interdisciplinary research infrastructure that relies on close ties between several faculties. The ecosystem depicted above demonstrates how the expertise of each partner plays an integral role in realizing the ultimate goal of improving clinical practices.

Users from the Medical faculty, Lund University

Department of Ophthalmology
Professor Malin Malmsjö, MD, PhD
Associate professor Rafi Shiekh, MD, PhD
Jonas Blohmé, MD, PhD
Björn Hammar, MD, PhD
John Albinsson, MSc, PhD
Aboma Merdasa, MSc, PhD
Bodil Gesslein, MSc, PhD
Nils Gustafsson, MSc, PhD
Cu Dybelius Ansson, MD, PhD
Ulf Dahlstrand, MD, PhD
Johanna Berggren, MD, PhD
Kajsa Tenland, MD, PhD
Jenny Hult, MD, PhD-student
Magne Tordengren, MD, PhD-student
Magdalena Naumovska, MD, PhD-student
Josefine Bunke, MD, PhD-student
Linn Engqvist, MD, PhD-student
Sofia Nilsson, MD

Department of Oncology
Professor Bo Baldetorp, MSc, PhD

Department of Dermatology
Bertil Persson, MD

Department of Translational Medicine
Professor Sophia Zackrisson, MD, PhD
Nadia Chaudhry MD, PhD-student

Department of Reumatology
Associate professor Aladdin Mohammad, MD, PhD

Department of Neonatology
Professor David Ley, MD, PhD
Magnus Gram, MD, PhD
Claes Ekström
Olga Romanski

Department of Pediatric Surgery
Associate professor Pernilla Stenström, MD, PhD
Kristine Hagelsteen, MD, PhD
Louise Tofft, MD, PhD
Christina Granéli MD, PhD

Department of Cardiology
Associate professor Gustav Smith, MD, PhD
Erik Linnér, MD, PhD-student
Viveka Dagner, RN
Ida Thorén

Department of Thoracic Surgery
Professor Sandra Lindstedt, MD, PhD
Jesper Andreasson, MD, PhD-student

Users from the Faculty of Science, Lund University

Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics
Associate Senior Lecturer Victor Olariu
Carl Troein, MSc, PhD
Emil Andersson, MSc, PhD-student
Patrik Edén, MSc, PhD 

Department of Biology
Associate Senior Lecturer Anna Runemark

Biological Museum
Jadranka Rota, curator

Users from Faculty of engineering (LTH), Lund University

Department of Biomedical Engineering
Associate professor Magnus Cinthio, MSc, PhD
Azin Khodaverdi, MSc, PhD-student
Tobias Erlöv, MSc, PhD
Karolina Sandell, MSc

Department of Physics
Associate professor Nina Reistad, MSc, PhD
Professor  Stefan Kröll, MSc, PhD
Associate professor Mikkel Brydegaard, MSc, PhD
Meng Li, MSc, PhD-student
Alexander Bengtsson, MSc, PhD-student
Martin Molin, MSc
David Hill, MSc, PhD-student

The Joint Faculties of Humanities and Theology

Department of Philosophy
Melina Tsapos
Trond Arild Tjøstheim

National Collaborators

Department of Clinical Neuroscience. Karolinska Institute, Stockholm
Elin Bohman, MD, PhD
Eva Dafgård Kopp, MD, PhD
Anna Wiktorin, MD, PhD-student

International Collaborations

Department of Biophotonics, Tyndall National Institute, Cork, Ireland
Professor Stefan Andersson-Engels, MSc, PhD
Baptiste Jayet, MSc, PhD

Department of applied physics, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Julio Hernandez, MSc

Urological Research Institute. IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele, Italy
Massimo Alfano, MSc, PhD
Viktor Popov, MSc, PhD
Diana Trojaniello, MSc, PhD
Christos Bellos, MSc
Dragana Nikolic, MSc

University of Toyama, Toyama, Japan
Professor Hideyuki Hasegawa, MSc, PhD
Ryo Nagaoka, MSc, PhD
Masaaki Omura, MSc, PhD


Industry Collaboration

FUJIFILM VisualSonics  

NEO - Norsk elektrooptik

Steering group

Professor Malin Malmsjö
malin [dot] malsmjo [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (malin[dot]malsmjo[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se)
+46 (0) 722 335060

Associate Professor Magnus Cinthio
magnus [dot] cinthio [at] bme [dot] lth [dot] se (magnus[dot]cinthio[at]bme[dot]lth[dot]se),
+46 (0) 46 222 97 10